More Than 100 Mayors, Supervisors, City Council Members Oppose Prop 21

Join Governor Newsom, Other Elected Officials
in Opposing “Housing Freeze” 

More than 100 elected officials from throughout California today announced their opposition to Proposition 21, the November measure that opponents say will reduce affordable housing in the state and require cuts in community services. 

The comprehensive list of officials includes County Supervisors, Mayors, City Council Members, city clerks and board members. They note that the independent Legislative Analyst’s Office(LAO) notes that Prop 21 could result in a decline in property values which in turn will result in the potential loss of tax revenue. Prop 21 also could result in “tens of millions of dollars per year” in increased costs to local government. 

“Proposition 21 will make California’s housing crisis even worse,” notes Tom Bannon, Chief Executive Officer of the California Apartment Association and Californians for Responsible Housing, the campaign opposing the ballot measure. “No one knows that more than our local leaders who know it will lead to cuts and services and millions of new costs at a time when our communities can least afford it.” 

Local officials opposed to Prop 21 include

Supervisor Brett Frazier, County of Madera 
Board Chair Candace Anderson, County of Contra Costa 
Supervisor Chuck Winn, County of San Joaquin 
Supervisor Curt Hagman, County of San Bernardino 
Supervisor David Canepa, County of San Mateo 
Supervisor David Rogers, County of Madera 
Supervisor Don Wagner, County of Orange 
Supervisor Ernest “Buddy” Mendes, County of Fresno 
Supervisor Jim DeMartini, County of Stanislaus 
Supervisor Kevin Jeffries, County of Riverside 
Board Chair Kristin Olsen, County of Stanislaus 
Supervisor Lisa Bartlett, County of Orange 
Supervisor Miguel Villapudua, County of San Joaquin 
Supervisor Nathan Magsig, County of Fresno 
Supervisor Richard Valle, County of Kings 
Supervisor Steve Brandau, County of Fresno 
Supervisor Terry Withrow, County of Stanislaus 
Supervisor Tom Patti, County of San Joaquin 
Mayor Adrian Fine, City of Palo Alto 
Mayor Art Bennett, City of Chino Hills 
Mayor Bill Zimmerman, City of Menifee 
Mayor Bob Magee, City of Lake Elsinore 
Mayor Christine Shea, City of Irvine 
Mayor Dustin Nigg, City of Wildomar 
Mayor Emily Beach, City of Burlingame 
Mayor Gene Wunderlich, City of Murrieta 
Mayor Glenn Miller, City of Indio 
Mayor Harry Sidhu, City of Anaheim 
Mayor Jennifer Fitzgerald, City of Fullerton 
Mayor Kevin Faulconer, City of San Diego 
Mayor Kuldip Thusu, City of Dinuba 
Mayor Larry McCallon, City of Highland 
Mayor Laurie Davies, City of Laguna Niguel 
Mayor Lee Brand, City of Fresno 
Mayor Linda Evans, City of La Quinta 
Mayor Mark Murphy, City of Orange 
Mayor Richard Bailey, City of Coronado 
Mayor Robert Pacheco, City of Walnut 
Mayor Sharon Springer, City of Burbank 
Mayor Tom Butt, City of Richmond 
Mayor Victor Lopez, City of Orange Grove 
Mayor Dr. Yxstian Gutierrez, City of Moreno Valley 
Vice Mayor Brian Johsz, City of Chino Hills 
Vice Mayor Charles Stone, City of Belmont 
Vice Mayor Francisco Ramirez, City of Hanford 
Mayor Pro-Tem Linda Krupa, City of Hemet 
Councilmember Alan Wapner, City of Ontario 
Councilmember Anthony Phan, City of Milpitas 
Councilmember Ara Najarian, City of Glendale 
Councilmember Armando Longeria, City of Dinuba 
Councilmember Art Brieno, City of Hanford 
Councilmember Barbara Delgleize, City of Huntington Beach 
Councilmember Bill Jahn, City of Big Bear Lake 
Councilmember Bill Ruh, City of Montclair 
Councilmember Bill Velto, City of Upland 
Councilmember Carla J. Thornton, City of Moreno Valley 
Councilmember Catherine Carlton, City of Menlo Park 
Councilmember Clint Lorimore, City of Eastvale 
Councilmember Dan Parra, City of Fowler 
Councilmember Debra Jones, City of Victorville 
Councilmember Dereck Timm, City of Scotts Valley 
Councilmember Dion Bracco, City of Gilroy 
Councilmember Emilio “Joey” Morales, City of Dinuba 
Councilmember Emily Gabel-Luddy, City of Burbank 
Councilmember Espi Sandoval, City of Kerman 
Councilmember Freddy Valdez, City of Firebaugh 
Councilmember Garry Bredefeld, City of Fresno 
Councilmember Gabe Quinto, City of El Cerrito 
Councilmember Greg Tanaka, City of Palo Alto 
Councilmember Gustav Larsson, City of Sunnyvale 
Councilmember Jeremy Smith, City of Canyon Lake 
Councilmember Jim Avalos, City of Selma 
Councilmember Jim Reed, City of Scotts Valley 
Councilmember John Lee, City of Los Angeles 
Councilmember John Sawyer, City of Santa Rosa 
Councilmember John Trujillo, City of Selma 
Councilmember Johnny Khamis, City of San Jose 
Councilmember Karlee Meyer, City of Hemet 
Councilmember Kelly Seyarto, City of Murrieta 
Councilmember Larry Carr, City of Morgan Hill 
Councilmember Larry Smith, City of Calimesa 
Councilmember Martin Devine, City of Hanford 
Councilmember Mason Fong, City of Sunnyvale 
Councilmember Michael Posey, City of Huntington Beach 
Councilmember Mike O’Neill, City of Pacifica 
Councilmember Paul Canepa, City of Stockton 
Councilmember Paul Resnikoff, City of Campbell 
Councilmember Paula Devine, City of Glendale 
Councilmember Peter Rogers, City of Chino Hills 
Councilmember Ray Buenaventura, City of Daly City 
Councilmember Renee Golder, City of Santa Cruz 
Councilmember Rich Waterman, City of Campbell 
Councilmember Robert Torres, City of Pomona 
Councilmember Steve Sanchez, City of La Quinta 
Councilmember Tim Goodrich, City of Torrance 
Councilmember Tim Shaw, City of La Habra 
Councilmember Trevor O’Neil, City of Anaheim 
Councilmember Victoria Baca, City of Moreno Valley 
Councilmember Victoria Muela Martinez, City of El Monte 
Councilmember Wayne Lee, City of Millbrae 
Councilmember Whitney Benzian, City of Coronado 

In addition to these local officials, Proposition 21 is opposed by Governor Gavin Newsom. Major senior, veterans, affordable housing, and labor groups also have announced their opposition, along with nearly all of the state’s newspaper editorial boards. 

Stay connected:

Paid for by No on Prop 21: Californians for Responsible Housing, a coalition of seniors, veterans, affordable housing advocates, labor & social justice organizations, sponsored by California Apartment Association. Committee Major Funding from Essex Property Trust and Affiliated Entities; Equity Residential; and AvalonBay Communities.
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram